CRA Annual Brussels Conference: Economic Developments in Competition Policy, 2018


The CRA Annual Brussels Conference, Economic Developments in Competition Policy, took place on Wednesday 5th December 2018 at the Steigenberger Wiltcher’s Hotel, Brussels.

Speakers’ slides (where we have permission) and videos of the panels (please click on each panel title) can be found below.


Director General Keynote

Johannes Laitenberger, Director General, DG Competition

Click here for speech


A View from the Chief Economist

Tommaso Valletti, Chief Economist, DG Competition

Click here for slides


Concentration Update:  Do We Have a Market Power Problem After All?

Chair: Tommaso Valletti

Jason Furman, Professor of the Practice of Economic Policy, Harvard Kennedy School & Chair, Digital Competition Expert Panel,  HM Treasury

Andrew Finch, Principal Deputy Assistant Attorney General, US Department of Justice

Andrea Coscelli, Chief Executive, UK Competition and Markets Authority

Jan De Loecker, Professor of Economics, KU Leuven and Visiting Professor, Princeton University

Howard Shelanski, Professor of Law, Georgetown University


Do We Need a “Radical Antitrust” Answer to “Populist Antitrust”?    

Chair:  Cristina Caffarra, CRA

Lina Khan, Academic Fellow, Columbia Law School

E Glen Weyl, Research Scholar, Princeton University

Martin C Schmalz, Assistant Professor of Finance, Ross School of Business, University of Michigan

Philip Marsden, Professor of Law and Economics, College of Europe, Bruges and Senior Adviser, CRA

Steven Tadelis, Professor of Economics, Business and Public Policy, Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley

Diana L Moss, President, American Antitrust Institute

Ioannis Lianos, Professor of Global Competition Law and Public Policy, University College London


Regulating Big Tech: Is Jean Tirole’s “Participative Antitrust” A Possible Answer? Is Germany’s “New Level Antitrust” Another? What Will the FTC Hearings Bring?

Chair: Cristina Caffarra, CRA

Bruce Hoffman, Director of the Bureau of Competition, US Federal Trade Commission

Andreas Mundt, President, Bundeskartellamt

Jacques Crémer, Special Adviser to Commissioner Vestager, European Commission and Professor of Economics, TSE

Justus Haucap, Director, DICE and former Chair of Monopolkommission

Joshua Gans, Professor of Strategic Management, University of Toronto

Fiona Scott Morton, Professor of Economics, Yale University School of Management and Senior Consultant, CRA


Issues in Merger Control: Killer Acquisitions, Platform Mergers, Attention Markets and Bargaining in Media Deals

Chair: Oliver Latham, CRA

Carles Esteva Mosso, Deputy Director General – Mergers, DG Competition

Margarida Matos Rosa, President, Portuguese Competition Authority

Toh Han Li, Chief Executive, Competition and Consumer Commission of Singapore

Andrea Prat, Professor of Economics, Columbia University and Professor of Business, Columbia Business School

Gregory Crawford, Professor of Economics, University of Zurich  [click here for slide]

William P Rogerson, Professor of Economics, Northwestern University

Colleen Cunningham, Assistant Professor of Strategy and Entrepreneurship, London Business School


Exploitative Abuses and Excessive Pricing: Should We, Could We, How Would We Draw a Line?

Chair: Peter Freeman CBE QC (Hon), Chairman, UK Competition Appeal Tribunal

Isabelle de Silva, President, Autorité de la concurrence [click here for slides]

Frédéric Jenny, Chairman, OECD Competition Committee and Professor of Economics, ESSEC Business School

Giovanni Pitruzzella, Advocate General, Court of Justice of the EU and former Chair, Italian Competition Authority

Massimo Motta, Research Professor, ICREA-Universitat Pompeu Fabra and Barcelona GSE

Giacomo Calzolari, Professor of Economics, European University Institute


Click here for the programme.